IMPORTANT! Due to the response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) events on this site may be postponed or canceled. Please CLICK HERE for the latest information about cancellations.

Please Note: This event has expired.

NMASS: New Media Art and Sound Summit

Presented by Church of the Friendly Ghost at Salvage Vanguard Theater, Austin TX

Jun 22 - 26 2016
NMASS: New Media Art and Sound Summit

COTFG presents: New Media Art & Sound Summit 2016 aka #NMASS2016

June 22, June 23, June 24, June 25, June 26
At Salvage Vanguard Theater (2803 Manor Rd, Austin, TX 78722)
4-day event including sound art, performances, workshops

NMASS2016 includes performers & projects such as:

Tarana, I Speak Machine, Sound Cycle, GABI, Dana Lyn + Kyle Sanna + Alon Ilsar, Sarah Hennies, Stine Janvin Motland, Graham Lambkin, Dusking,Peter Stopschinksi’s Massacre of Spring, Bardo:Basho, Atop, Cameron

View more

ADMISSION INFO

Wednesday June 22 is free.
Thursday June 23 – Sunday June 26 is $30/day
4-Day Festival Passes are available for $75

Contact: (512) 474-7886

Email: cotfg.assistant@gmail.com

    Official Website

INDIVIDUAL DATES & TIMES*

Additional time info:

Wednesday evening – June 22, 2016 New Media Art and Sound Summit kickoff events : FREE ADMISSION! 7:45PM – Dusking – Outdoors – Location TBA 9:00PM – Star Cycle sound and visual instalation at Salvage Vanguard Theater In the SVT Gallery – Tonal Proximity Outside SVT – Concord NMASS2016 Day 1 Thursday 6/23/2016 with Peter Stopschinski’s Massacre of Spring w/percussion trio (Chuck Fischer, Thomas Burritt, Cullen Faulk), More Eaze, Richard Ramirez+Aunts Analog, Atop, Bardo Basho (Kirsten Thom), Soft Healer, Experimental Response Cinema, Bohm, daytime workshop. Schedule: 2:00PM ERC presents: SET http://nmassfest.org/participants/experimental-response-cinema-set/ 3:00PM Workshop with Ladybrain Studios http://nmassfest.org/participants/ladybrain-studios/ 4:00PM Colin Sheffield and James Eck Rippie http://nmassfest.org/participants/colin-andrew-sheffield-james-eck-rippie/ 5:00PM BOHM http://nmassfest.org/participants/bohm/ 6:00PM More Eaze http://nmassfest.org/participants/more-eaze/ 7:00PM Aunts Analog http://nmassfest.org/participants/tef-aunts-analog/ 8:00PM Peter Stopschinski w/percussion trio – Massacre of Springhttp://nmassfest.org/participants/peter-stopschinski-massacre-of-spring/ 9:00PM Bardo Basho / Kirsten Thom http://nmassfest.org/participants/bardobasho/ 10:00PM Atop http://nmassfest.org/participants/atop/ 10:40PM Alex Keller http://nmassfest.org/participants/alex-keller-2/ 11:00PM Soft Healer w/Drew Liverman http://nmassfest.org/participants/soft-healer-drew-liverman/ 11:45PM Spencer Dobbs & Robin Kathleen Williams http://nmassfest.org/2016/04/the-sun-is-going-down-the-moon-may-rise-in-blood/ 12:30AM Cameron Shafii http://nmassfest.org/participants/cameron-shafii/ Outside: http://nmassfest.org/participants/concord/ Inside SVT Gallery: http://nmassfest.org/participants/tonal-proximity/ NMASS2016 Day 2 Friday 6/24/2016 with Tarana (NYC), Montopolis Music for Enchanted Rock, Dana Lyn (NYC) Aqualude, Stine Janvin Motland (solo), Graham Lambkin, GABI (NY) workshop with Tarana and more! 3:00PM Workshop with Tarana http://nmassfest.org/participants/workshop-with-tarana/ 5:00PM Adam Pacione http://nmassfest.org/participants/adam-pacione/ 6:00PM Rick Reed http://nmassfest.org/participants/rick-reed/ 7:00PM Montopolis http://nmassfest.org/participants/montopolis-chamber-ensemble/ 8:30PM Stine Janvin Motland http://nmassfest.org/participants/stine-janvin-motland/ 9:00PM Graham Lambkin http://nmassfest.org/participants/graham-lambkin/ 10:00PM Dana Lyn – Aqualude quintet http://nmassfest.org/participants/aqualude/ 10:30PM GABI http://nmassfest.org/participants/gabi/ 11:20PM Tarana http://nmassfest.org/participants/tarana/ 12:00AM Jen Hill http://nmassfest.org/participants/jenhill/ Installations: http://nmassfest.org/participants/concord/ http://nmassfest.org/participants/tonal-proximity/ NMASS2016 Day 3 Saturday 6/25/2016 with Cory Allen, I Speak Machine (LA), Dana Lyn w/Kyle Sanna and Alon Ilsar, Stine Janvin Motland, Sarah Hennies, François Minaux & Laura Brackney, Alex Keller, Graham Lambkin , Corey Dargel w/Steve Parker, Mongoose, Alien Knife Fight, Troller 11:00AM Cory Allen http://nmassfest.org/participants/cory-allen 12:00PM Zac Traeger(film) 1:00PM Graham Lambkin Q&A and short collaborative performance http://nmassfest.org/participants/graham-lambkin/ 2:00PM Francois Minaux w/Laura Brackney http://nmassfest.org/participants/francois-minaux-laura-brackney/ 3:00PM I Speak Machine http://nmassfest.org/participants/i-speak-machine/ 4:00PM Brent Fariss chamber ensemble piece – Stockholm, Sweden: September 8, 1977 (for string quartet+ soprano) 5:00PM Corey Dargel w/Steve Parker http://nmassfest.org/participants/corey-dargel-steve-parker/ 6:00PM Gerritt Wittmer http://nmassfest.org/participants/gerrit-wittmer/ 7:00PM Sarah Hennies w/Stine Janvin Motland http://nmassfest.org/participants/sarah-hennies/ http://nmassfest.org/participants/stine-janvin-motland/ 8:00PM Bardo:Basho / Kirsten Thom w/Cameron Shafii http://nmassfest.org/participants/bardobasho/ http://nmassfest.org/participants/cameron-shafii/ 9:00PM Dana Lyn w/Kyle Sanna and Alon Ilsarhttp://nmassfest.org/participants/dana-lyn-kyle-sanna-alon-ilsar/ 10:00PM Mongoose http://nmassfest.org/participants/mongoose2016nmass/ 11:00PM Alien Knife Fight http://nmassfest.org/participants/alien-knife-fight/ 12:00AM Troller http://nmassfest.org/participants/troller/ 12:45AM Amulets http://nmassfest.org/participants/amulets/ In the gallery all day/evening: Tonal Proximity http://nmassfest.org/participants/tonal-proximity/ Outdoors: Concord http://nmassfest.org/participants/concord/ NMASS2016 Day 4 Sunday 6/26/2016 includes a full afternoon of creative programming ending with a final gathering/goodbye party for Salvage Vanguard Theater’s residency on 2803 Manor Rd. Austin, TX 78722 10:00 AM Sound Cycle (45 min group bike concert) http://nmassfest.org/participants/sound-cycle-2016/https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewer?mid=zXs67q05pSL0.kg1zgPCNJe5E 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM Enjoy the installations! http://nmassfest.org/participants/tonal-proximity/ 1:00 PM Hear No Evil https://www.facebook.com/hearnoevilaustin 2:00 PM Thomas Mortigan http://nmassfest.org/participants/thomas-mortigan/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fq5DuM9E4eY 3:00 PM LSJ http://nmassfest.org/participants/lsj2016/ 4:00 PM Cooley/Smith/Ewenhttp://nmassfest.org/participants/austin-cooley-carol-sandin-cooley-sandy-ewen-damon-smith/Carol / Austin Cooley w/Damon Smith and Sandy Ewen 5:00 PM RReynolds/DGiesler http://nmassfest.org/participants/dieter-geisler-randy-reynolds/ 5:30 PM Dope Dungeon http://nmassfest.org/participants/dope-dungeon/ 6:00 PM Electric Azmaris – The Azmaris + guests Salvage Vanguard Goodbye Party!

* Event durations (if noted) are approximate. Please check with the presenting organization or venue to confirm start times and duration.

LOCATION

Salvage Vanguard Theater

2803 Manor Road, Austin, TX 78722

CONNECT WITH Church of the Friendly Ghost

    Email
/
    Website
/
    Facebook
/
    Twitter
/
    Instagram
/
    Donate

MADE POSSIBLE WITH SUPPORT FROM

 

The Austin Creative Alliance is funded in part by the City of Austin through the Economic Development Department's Cultural Arts Division and by grants from Texas Commission on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts which believes that a great nation deserves great art. The Creative Alliance also receives generous in-kind support from CreateAustin, and Time Warner Cable News. We are also grateful for the ongoing support and participation of our members and patrons.

FOLLOW US

Artsopolis Network Members: Akron OH | Austin TX | Bainbridge Island WA | Birmingham AL | Boston MA | Cape Cod MA | Cincinnati OH | Cleveland OH | Colorado Springs CO | Columbia SC | DuPage County IL | Durham NC | Essex County MA | Flagstaff AZ | Flint MI | Fort Lauderdale FL | Indianapolis IN | Kalamazoo MI | Kansas City MO | KeepMovingOKC | Macon GA | Main Line Area PA | Marin County CA | Marquette County MI | Mendocino County CA | Middlesex County NJ | Milwaukee WI | Montgomery County MD | Napa Valley CA | Nashville TN | Niagara County NY | Oklahoma City OK | Orange County CA | Orlando FL | Ottawa IL | Panama City FL | Pittsburgh PA | Providence RI | Richardson TX | Sacramento CA | San Antonio TX | St. Cloud MN | St. Croix Valley MN/WI | St. Johns County FL | Stillwater MN | Tallahassee FL | Utah | Ventura CA | York County PA